Feeling Defeated

It’s been a week since I started eating Vegan and although I personally feel great about the decision, I am totally discouraged. I don’t know why I thought for a second that our household could all be on the same page with eating.

So far this week:

  • my brother called me crazy for not buying milk
  • my dad thinks the entire vegan diet is ridiculous and has no scientific proof
  • my kids are complaining that we don’t have pizza, lunch meat, and candy
  • my sister-in-law thinks our pantry is full of crazy food
  • my husband accused me of tricking him about the food I fixed
  • and my grandmother claims to be on board with eating vegan but still eats everything else and feeds my daughter junk food behind my back

As of today, my mom and sister were mostly eating vegan but not entirely. My husband said he’ll eat whatever I fix to eat at home, but he won’t be giving up meat 100% of the time. I doubt he’ll avoid regular dairy products either.

I’m not feeling a whole lot of support right now and I’m just feeling completely defeated.

Is it worth it?

Should I give up?

If we didn’t live with my parents this entire issue would be completely different. I could make a decision with my husband and we could make our plans accordingly. But this combined household situation really messes that up. Now I’m faced with paying for food I don’t want my family eating and trying to keep my kids from eating food I don’t want them having. These are both two major headaches I wish I didn’t have to deal with.

3 responses

  1. How goes the battle? I stumbled across your website this evening and sympathize with your predicament. I must say I admire your courage and hope you can continue your journey against what must seem like nearly impossible odds.

    I made the decision to go vegan on December 11th, so I am nearly three months in. In addition to watching “Forks Over Knives”, the most influential reason I decided to go vegan was the book “Eat to Live”, by Dr. Joel Fuhrman. It reinforces everything put forth in “Forks Over Knives”, and even goes deeper into why one should adhere to a plant based, nutrient rich diet. In addition to “Eat to Live”, I would also recommend his two-volume book called “Eat For Health”. It was written as a follow-up to “Eat to Live”, as he realized that “Eat to Live” was quite rigid in philosophy and not really geared toward the general population. “Eat For Health” is comprised of Four Phases of his diet plan, with each subsequent phase relying less upon non-vegan type foods (meat, poultry, fish, dairy, etc.), and more upon healthy, nutrient rich plant foods. Ultimately, though, he recommends getting at least 90% of one’s calories from nutrient rich plant foods, which allows for about 10% coming from other sources. Perhaps this might make it easier to include your entire family as it would still allow them to eat the foods they love (and are actually addicted to), but give them a diet infinitely better than that of the Standard American Diet.

    I would highly recommend that you purchase, and read (and study), the above referenced books (if you haven’t already), and they can be found at his website http://www.drfuhrman.com/. Included in the above books are ample recipes to get started with his plan, and just the “Eat Your Greens Smoothie” would be a great start and something your whole family would enjoy. I was amazed at how delicious it is, and it is now what I have for breakfast everyday. It’s like drinking a delicious milkshake, only completely healthy! For about $3 per month, you can also subscribe to his website where you have access to something like 1400 vegan (and non-vegan) recipes. Some are better than others, but there is definitely a variety, and with a little tweaking here and there I have made some absolutely delicious meals that are 100% vegan.

    Anyway, give it some thought and, regardless, I wish you the best of luck and hope you haven’t given up.

    • Hi Garth,

      Thanks so much for your comment. I do have those books and I also enjoyed “Veganist” by Kathy Freston.

      Unfortunately, I gave up on my vegan pursuits. I could more easily become vegetarian in my combined household but even that was so challenging. My family is very Paleo focused that lots of meat is consumed at meal time.

      The dairy element was the hardest part of going vegan. Not so much switching the milk but the other dairy items.

      I am sad that I feel like I gave up but it’s definitely something I would work towards again in the future.

  2. Vegan is a diet of spiritual make-up. Animals are a living life and if religious, only God takes and gives the breath of life, which you breath also. More so, animal products are death and darkness, and eating them is eating dead flesh that’s rotting daily and causes much illness and deformities in people. Still, dieting is the person’s own choice for no one should take liberty from another (Read the Oahspe Bible for a good understanding, on-line).
    You can still have many things you had as a meat eater. Pizza, at WalMart, they sell Mary’s pizza crust and sauce (non-meat). Read the ingredients so it doesn’t have milk, whey, so-on, and at nutritional stores they sell soy burger, small soy type roasts, soy pepperoni, etc. Soy cheeses like cheddar, mozzarella, pepper jack are available as is vegan cheese slices for cheese sandwiches. Tatter tote casserole with a vegan mushroom sauce and soy burger base has a delicious taste; soy burgers afford a hamburger type meal and tastes good and different breads are available based on soy products, including burger and hotdog buns, and soy dogs (smart dogs) taste as good as animal products. They also make soy cream cheeses, soy marshmellows, etc. Research, and by this it affords you and your family a broad amount of avenues and nice and tasty meals.

Leave a Reply

